Trevor Noah and the Desire for “Other” Blacks

Posted on

Black Millennials

When Comedy Central confirmed on Monday that Trevor Noah would be replacing The Daily Show host Jon Stewart, there was widespread support — myself included. Only a few hours later, some distasteful tweets came to light, revealing that the South African comedian made some not-too-cool jokes about women, Israel, and Asians.

Screen Shot 2015-03-31 at 3.47.58 PM As someone who remains hyper-conscious about racial matters, I (surprisingly) wasn’t offended. My Blackness wasn’t the subject of his humor, and I recognize in that fact lies my partiality. But still, I wasn’t perturbed. And fortunately, I’m not alone, with many voicing their support of the comedian and his placement…

View original post 658 more words

Leave a Reply

